Note: We were originally planning to launch this feature on April 7th, but due to some additional time needed for the feature to grow, we’ve decided to hold the release until the week of April 12th.
What is the Submissions area?
Submissions allows you to see forms that you have created. It is divided into two areas: Submitted and Drafts.
The Submitted area provides a list of documents that you have submitted, including their status in the workflow process. From here you are also able to take a few actions on submitted forms.
The Drafts area houses forms that you have begun but have not yet submitted. You are able to see when the form was created and how much time has elapsed since then. By clicking on the form name, you are also able to make changes, submit, or discard the document.
How do I find the Submissions area of Kuali Build?
You can access your submissions from two locations:
- Kuali Build Dashboard: From the Kuali Build Dashboard, click “Submissions” in the top middle of the screen to see forms that you have submitted.
- Form Submission Page: Once a form is submitted you will be taken to the Submissions page. However, if the app administrator has enabled the form settings “Start a new empty form after each submission” or “Show ‘Start new form’ button” on the submission confirmation page,” you will be taken to those respective pages.
- Note: If users do not have permission to create apps, they will not have the ability to see the full Kuali dashboard. They will only be able to see the Submissions area.
What can I see and do with forms I have submitted?
Once you navigate to the Submissions area, click on the Submitted tab. You will see a list of forms that you have previously submitted along with some additional information:
- Form: The name of the form (app) that you filled out.
- Date Submitted: The date and time you submitted the form.
- Time Elapsed: The time elapsed since the form was submitted.
- Status: The status of the document in the workflow process.
- In Progress: The document is still going through the workflow process
- Complete: The document has completed the workflow process and has been approved.
- Denied: The document has completed the workflow process and has been denied.
- Error: The progress of the document through the workflow process has been paused due to an error in the workflow. Reach out to your Kuali Build administrator for additional assistance.
- Withdrawn: You previously withdrew this document, and it is no longer being run through the form’s workflow.
- Withdraw Submission: Removes your form from the workflow process. Once withdrawn you are able to duplicate the submission, make changes to it, and resubmit. (Note: Submissions can only be withdrawn if they are in progress. Approved or Denied forms can no longer be withdrawn.)
- Duplicate and Edit: Duplicates your submitted form. You are then able to edit the form and resubmit.
- Pro-tip: Send a notification to the form submitter immediately after submission with a link to the Submissions page. This will let them know about the page (if they don’t already know), and give them a quick link to access information about their submissions.
What other things do I need to know about with this release?
Show Workflow Status on Submissions: This is a new setting that has been added to Workflow Settings. By enabling it you will allow the form submitter to view the workflow status of their submitted form. With this access they will be able to see what step their form is on, who is assigned to approve it, and any comments that have been made.
Updates to Action List: Forms that have been started, saved, but not yet submitted will no longer appear on the Action List. They can now be found by going to Submissions and then clicking on Drafts. Moving forward the Action List will only show Approval and Acknowledgement assignments.
Withdrawn forms on the Document List: When a user withdraws a submission, the document will continue to appear on the app’s Document List with a status of Withdrawn. By clicking on the document from the list and then toggling to view the Workflow Status, the app administrator will be able to see any approvals, acknowledgements, or comments added to the document prior to the withdrawal.