What is Draft Mode?
In the past Kuali Build apps have been live, meaning, any change you made to an existing form or workflow would be seen by form submitters immediately. Draft Mode allows you to make all of your changes to an app and then publish them at a time that is least disruptive for your users.
Additionally, Draft Mode will alert you of potential errors from changes to your app, such as errors in the workflow that may occur if you change a form. You will also be prevented from publishing your app changes until all errors have been resolved.
How do I preview my changes before I publish?
The basics of creating a form and workflow in Kuali Build are simple (see How Do I Create a Form? and How Do I Add, Edit, and Delete Steps in a Workflow?). With Draft Mode you also have the ability to preview a form before you publish.
To preview the form click the toggle switch at the top of the Form Builder from "Design" to "Preview."
This will allow you to view the form as your submitters will see it once you publish. To return to edit the form, click the toggle switch again from "Preview" to "Design."
How do I edit an app using Draft Mode?
- To edit an app that has previously been published, click on the app's icon from the Kuali Build Dashboard. This will take you to the app's Document List.
- From there, click Form in the upper right-hand corner of the screen to edit the form, or click Workflow to edit the workflow.
- Begin editing.
- You will notice that a yellow "Draft" flag will appear in the top right corner of your screen. This flag indicates that any changes made to your app while in Draft Mode will not be seen by your submitters until you publish your app.
Note: Kuali Build will notify you of any potential errors that could be caused by your editing the app. For example, if you try to remove a field that your workflow is dependent on, a warning message will appear at the top of your screen similar to the screenshot below. You will also be unable to publish your app until the error is corrected.
You will also see an error in your workflow if you delete a field that is associated with the workflow step:
How do I delete my draft without publishing?
If you decide that you don't want to publish the changes you have made to your app while in Draft Mode, you can simply discard the draft and start over without your users ever knowing.
To discard your current draft, go to the Publish screen, and click Discard Draft.