Updated October 1, 2020
Please note some information below has changed from the previous guide.
You have asked, and we have listened! The Kuali Build team is thrilled to announce our newest features: View Only Mode and Form Section Overrides. These new features give you more control over your forms and allow you to determine who should be able to view or edit certain sections of a form and when.
Previously in Kuali Build all forms were editable by any reviewer assigned to an approval or acknowledge workflow step once the form was submitted. This will no longer be the default behavior. By default all forms will be in View Only Mode when they are created. Meaning, all reviewers will simply be able to view and approve or acknowledge a form once it has been submitted. With Form Section Overrides you will have the ability to make adjustments to this rule.
Workflow Settings: View Only Mode
We have created a new area in the Workflow Builder called Workflow Settings, and we have added an option to allow forms to be editable or not editable after form submission. When View Only Mode is selected, reviewers will be allowed to view but not edit submitted forms by default. When Editable is selected, all submitted documents could be editable by any reviewer. View Only Mode will be enabled automatically for new apps.
To access the View Only Mode setting click Workflow Settings at the right of the Workflow Builder page below the Publish button. From there you can enable or disable View Only Mode.
What are Form Section Overrides?
At times you may have the need for a reviewer to edit a form or a portion of a form. You are able to set edit, view, or hide permissions for reviewers on each form section and at each workflow step. For example, you may have an Office Use Only section that needs to be filled out by someone in Human Resources. Form Section Overrides will allow you to give edit privileges to reviewers at a step assigned to Human Resources while keeping other reviewers in view only mode. Additionally, you may wish to hide certain sections of submitted forms from other approvers. The Form Section Overrides can help with that too.
From the Workflow Builder you can override the View Only Mode setting for specific sections in a form and for specific steps in the workflow. You have the option to make them hidden, view-only, or editable for Approval and Acknowledge steps.
- To access the Form Section Overrides navigate to the Workflow Builder and select an existing approval or acknowledge step or add one to your form.
- Click the toggle switch to enable the setting "Make individual form sections at this step hidden or view only."
- Once enabled you will see a list of the sections in your form. You have the option to hide a section from reviewers or allow them to view or edit fields in a given section on the workflow step.
- If needed you can always select "Reset to Defaults" to return your changes to the setting you selected in Workflow Settings. If you enabled View Only Mode, "Reset to Defaults" will give the reviewer View privileges on all sections at this workflow step. If View Only Mode was disabled in Workflow Settings "Reset to Defaults" will make all sections editable.
- By clicking on the eyeball or pencil icons above your sections, you are also able to quickly select the action (hide, view, or edit) for all sections on that workflow step.
- Note: If you have embedded sections, you are able to adjust the Hide, View, and Edit privileges on those sections. However, if you adjust the privileges on the top-level section, the privileges on the embedded sections will then reflect those permissions.
- Once you have edited a workflow step to include the hide or edit permissions, an eyeball or pencil icon will appear on the step's card to allow you to quickly identify which steps have sections that are hidden or editable.
Will my published form change automatically when I adjust Workflow Settings or the Form Section Overrides?
No. Once adjustments are made to Workflow Settings or Form Section Overrides, you still need to publish your app in order for those changes to be reflected in your published form. You are also able to discard your draft from the Publish page if you no longer wish for your changes to be made to your published form.
What will happen to my existing forms when these features go live?
In order to minimize disruptions, all existing forms will have View Only Mode turned off and will be marked as editable in Workflow Settings, so that they can continue to function as they do today. However, all apps created after the release will default to View Only Mode. If you then wish to change these settings you can do so as detailed above.
Please sign in to leave a comment.